Google Analytics Alternative
Menu

Does Corn Have Gluten? Know Now If It Is Gluten Free

By Adriana Seng | Gluten-Free Foods

Sep 28
does-corn-has-gluten-cover

Many claims that corn is gluten-free and is essentially safe for people suffering from celiac diseases and other gluten sensitivities. However, there are also contradicting claims that says corn does contain gluten.

I will be presenting both sides of the argument so you can judge for yourself whether you want to add corn to your gluten-free diet. Find out now whether or not does corn have gluten and decide for yourself.

Corn Gluten Content Arguments

Plain corn is gluten-free

 

does-corn-has-gluten

One side of the argument is that even though corn is a grain, corn eaten straight from the cob is gluten free. It is also claimed that most forms of corn, more often than not, are also gluten free which makes them safe enough for people suffering both celiac and non-celiac diseases, as well as other gluten sensitivities. There may be certain varieties of corn that contain gluten especially some of the processed ones available in the market.

Argument:

Corn is a grain and definitely contains gluten. Many would claim that this is a different type of gluten that does not really cause any harm to celiac disease patients.

However, the fact remains that corn is not gluten-free. Claiming that it is gluten-free is only twisting and manipulating the fact that it does gluten, regardless of what kind of gluten it is.

Gluten from Corn is Safe

does-corn-has-gluten-2

It is claimed that even though corn does contain gluten, it does not contain the gluten Gliadin found in wheat and other grains commonly associated with celiac diseases and gluten sensitivities. It is believed that it does not trigger the same adverse effects of other forms of gluten.

Argument:

While corn may not contain the gluten Gliadin, corn has still been seen to cause severe problems in most gluten sensitive individuals. The celiac disease patients as well as gluten sensitive people who have consumed corn claim to feel absolutely no adverse effects from eating corn.

However, just because there is no outward or obvious symptoms, does not mean there is no long-term detrimental effects. It may not be obviously apparent, but it can be causing damages internally that you are just not aware of, and are still too early to diagnose.

Corn Gluten is not bad

does-corn-has-gluten-3

Despite the fact that corn does contain corn gluten substances, it does not have any detrimental effects to people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivities.

Argument:

Again, the simple fact remains that corn does contain gluten, and while it may sound redundant, it is as simple as that. Corn gluten has not been studied sufficiently enough, to date. Researchers are still trying to find strong correlations between gluten sensitives and celiac diseases with corn consumption.

There are, however, studies that have shown that more than 50% of the patients who steer free of wheat, rye and barley but still eat corn do not get better. There is no established connection yet between corn and celiac disease patients but it is important to note that there is high probability that corn gluten may also be a culprit.

Tips for Safer Corn Consumption for a Gluten-free diet

does-corn-has-gluten-tip

If you have decided to take the risk and eat corn anyway, here are a few tips:

  • If you are eating corn as a part of recipe, make sure that none of the other ingredients contain gluten. Check for any other grain additives that might contain gluten. If eating out, you can always verify at the restaurant what the ingredients or you can specifically request to remove gluten containing ingredients if it is not integral to the dish. You can always choose something else from the menu if it is not, anyway.
  • Cook your own meals. There is no better way of monitoring your meals than preparing your own food. Make sure you check ingredients and may contain labels.
  • Try to steer away from commercially produced ingredients such as frozen and canned foods. While there is a standard labeling for all gluten containing products, cross-contamination is a risk you run, especially if the manufacturer is producing other products that are not gluten free. If you are willing to get in touch with the manufacturer yourself to verify, might as well stick to fresh produce.
A few additional considerations regarding corn:
  • It is a high-calorie food with low nutritional value. You don’t really lose a lot by removing it from your diet.
  • It is the top two genetically modified produce worldwide. First in the list is soy, but rice also enters the list of top modified produces. This is literally one of the guinea pigs of the produce industry.
  • It may contain protein, but it is not a complete protein.
  • We do not digest corn very well. We flush out corn almost the same way we ingested it.
  • Contains toxic fructose.
  • Traces of mercury are found in corn syrup.
Corn is delicious and very filling. I love corn soups and just eating buttered corn as a snack. There is no harm in eating corn now and then, but if you are on a gluten free diet, adding corn to your diet cannot be a guaranteed gluten-free food and can be very bad for you.

However, if you have decided to take it on face value as gluten free, make sure to follow the tips to make sure that you eat them as safely as possible. Let me know what you think. Share with your friends if you have found this article useful.